The 24 Hour Plays are an event in which entertainment’s biggest names join forces to participate in an annual rite of extreme live performance: they write, direct and perform six original short plays in just 24 hours. The creative process begins at 10PM the night before the show, when a group of six writers, six directors, 24 actors and production staff gather at a theater. After everyone has been briefed, the writers stay on all night, to each compose a ten-minute play. At 7AM the following morning, the directors return, read the plays, and choose their cast. The casts meet for the first time at 8AM and quickly get to work rehearsing. Tech rehearsal runs from 5:00 to 7:30PM and doors open at 7:45PM. At 8:00PM, ink barely dry, the new plays are performed for a live audience.

Kevin and Francesca have teamed with the 24 Hour Company to produce these events since 2001, raising millions of dollars for charitable organizations. The plays have been held annually in New York since 2001 (on Broadway at the American Airlines Theater since 2003), at the Old Vic Theater in London since 2004, and in Los Angeles (once in 2002 and back again starting in 2011).

Continually evolving the relationship with sponsors, branding opportunities have included basing an entire play on a Montblanc pen and streaming video of actors having their hair done by Tresemme stylists in preparation for their roles. Participating sponsors have included: Montblanc, Glamour Magazine, Details Magazine, Men’s Vogue, Bloomingdales, W Hotels, Tresemme, Lycra, Starbucks, and Grand Centenario.

Participants have included: Jennifer Aniston, Christina Applegate, Maria Bello, Gael Garcia Bernal, Leslie Bibb, Benjamin Bratt, James Broadbent, Jennifer Coolidge, Brian Cox, David Cross, Billy Crudup, Alan Cumming, Julie Delpy, Portia DiRossi, Rachel Dratch, Griffin Dunne, Giancarlo Esposito, Joseph Fiennes, Seth Green, Clark Gregg, Mariska Hargitay, Scarlett Johansson, John Krasinski, Kieran Kulkin, Mila Kunis, Ashton Kutcher, Robert Sean Leonard, Matthew Lillard, Justin Long, Natasha Lyonne, Anthony Mackie, Julianna Marguiles, Jesse L. Martin, Eva Mendes, Demi Moore, Julianne Moore, Bebe Neuwirth, Sofie Okenedo, Anna Paquin, Mary-Louise Parker, Amanda Peet, Rosie Perez, Christina Ricci, John Ritter, Sam Rockwell, Liev Schrieber, Kyra Sedgwick, Rufus Sewell, Brendan Sexton III, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Wallace Shawn, Ben Shenkman, Brooke Shields, Sarah Silverman, Fisher Stevens, Lili Taylor, Tracie Thoms, Marisa Tomei, Nia Vardalos, Vince Vaughn, Naomi Watts, Dominic West, and Frank Whaley.